Ranger & 1H Weapon

Discussion in 'General Archive' started by Talbor, Feb 28, 2018.

Dear forum reader,

if you’d like to actively participate on the forum by joining discussions or starting your own threads or topics, please log into the game first. If you do not have a game account, you will need to register for one. We look forward to your next visit! CLICK HERE
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Talbor

Talbor Active Author

Hi,
    I'm fairly new to the game (lvl 38) and have been seeing a lot of people saying 1H is horrible for Ranger. I know i've been struggling trying to find good 1H weapons since I didn't want to give up the shield, but held on to a couple of 2H'ers in case I was in a group and wasn't taking hits as much. I play solo, for now at least, and wondering if I should just go ahead and focus on a 2H build and why? Thanks in advance for any help & advice! :)

2. _Baragain_

_Baragain_ Living Forum Legend

In PvE, a Longbow/quiver build is reasonably viable at end game, and obvious a Siege Bow build is too. You will also occasionally see a shield based build in end game PvP. However, there is no end game PvE RA build that uses a shield. The solo play style is all about "run 'n gun," crowd control, and killing them first. You need some defenses for the occasional hit you will take, but an end game RA depending on high defenses with a shield will never be soloing with the best of the best because it cripples your DPS in the highest difficulties... and in those difficulties, the saying "The best defense is a strong offense" is incredibly true. The extra survivability won't mean much against the higher damage and you will have a hard time killing even easy mobs.

My advice is to start adapting your play style and start focusing on either a longbow/quiver build or a 2H build. Avoid short bows all together and only use a shield in PvP.

3. Talbor

Talbor Active Author